Restaurant experiment: Tokyo Japanese Restaurant

Tokyo Japanese Restaurant

342 Lexington Avenue between East 39th and 40th Streets

New York, NY 10016

212-697-8330

http://tokyorestaurant.net/

My mom picked out this place since it was supposed to be authentic.  That was certainly the case: the waitresses are decked out in kimonos, and they have menus written solely in Japanese, as well as English versions.   The website states that Tokyo has been around 35 years which has to say something.  It was still pretty early when we arrived, not really needing the reservation that we made.

Hot towels were brought over, and we perused the menu.  An appetizer we ordered was fried chicken legs with scallions and fish eggs.  That sounds like a mish mash, but it was actually delicious.  Sipping green tea, my dad and I decided to chow on the cheaper sushi morawase option and my mom went for the chirashi.  I stole some of her avocado and purpled pickled cucumber and tobiko.  The miso soup came out prior, and it was strongly flavored which I dig.  I had requested no wasabi on my platter, though somehow they put wasabi on the maki.  Huh.  And I was a little disappointed that ikura was not available a la carte, or at least it wasn’t on the menu.  Mmm, fresh sushi.  I was surprised the rolls were a little messy instead of made with Japanese precision, but no huge deal.

As it happens often, the service grew less attentive as more guests wafted into the restaurant.  This would have bothered me less except for the fact that I was racing against a deadline.  I did order dessert because I thought it would be faster.  My father’s dessert seemed to take more time (mochi) than mine (green tea ice cream).  I know Tokyo doesn’t make their own green tea ice cream, but it’s still good stuff.  Tokyo: uncreative name, but darn good sushi and authentic!

Leave a comment