Restaurant experiment: Highland Bakery

Highland Bakery

655 Highland Avenue NE between Corley Street NE & Sampson Street NE

Atlanta, GA 30312

404-586-0772

http://highlandbakery.com/index.html

I was in change of deciding where Dave and I should dine for a Sunday brunch, and after extensive Yelp searching, I settled on Highland Bakery.  They have a couple of locations, but this one on Highland Avenue in Old Fourth Ward is the original one.  Highland Bakery has a microscopic lot; street parking wasn’t too much of a hassle though.

Don’t be confused like we were; go through the bakery entrance to put your name down.  A tween-aged girl was taking names.  At least the wait was short, though I wasn’t expecting a wait since it was near 3PM.  The place was still hoppin’ even though the closing time is 4PM.  The service staff was very diverse, and like at Leon’s, it was a waitress/waiter tattoo party for sure.  We were seated at some highboys against a wall and next to some lovely glass artwork.

As Dave and I were famished, we elected to have a few pastries to munch on while waiting for our mains.  I, naturally, had selected the eggs Benedict ($8.99) as my main, and Dave had followed suit.  There were two scone options ($2.99 each).  I forgot what the other one was (currant maybe?) and the one we ended up getting was pistachio and white chocolate.  I actually do not like white chocolate all that much, but I’d never had a pistachio scone before and wanted to try it.  Yum!  Divine.  Love the dusting of sugar on top.  Heated up too.  The chocolate croissant ($2.19) was fine though but I could have used a little more flakiness.  I love warmed pastries, especially when gooey chocolate is involved.

For my fellow Benedict lovers, there are some other varieties like the Country Fried Steak Benedict, the Fried Chicken Benedict, and the Cowboy Benedict, but I just got the Classic.  The eggs Benedict was too paprika-y for me.  See below.  Dave complained that the eggs Benedict wasn’t that hot, and I assured him that this seems to be an accepted practice, judging from the EBs I’ve consumed during other brunches.  Have I ever received piping hot EB?  I don’t think so.  I remembered liking the potatoes, though some chunks had more flavor that others.  I was actually getting really full and had to bring home the leftover spuds in a container.  If you don’t like tubers, never fear, as grits are also available.

Our server was polite, cheery, and helpful.  I’m not sure if Highland Bakery is the best brunch in all of Atlanta and I wouldn’t wait forever for a table, but it’s really good, and the scones are totally killer!

Leave a comment