Restaurant experiment: Taco Mac

Taco Mac

573 Main Street at Lindbergh Center

Atlanta, GA 30324

404-574-5813

http://tacomac.com

Dave and I seem to want wings 90% of the time, so he suggested we go to a Taco Mac since I’d never had their wings before, and they are supposed to have some of Atlanta’s best.  Sounded like a plan to me!

We ended up at this location since we happened to be close by.  It was a Sunday evening, and we were kind of early, so it wasn’t too crowded yet but definitely got busier as the night went on.

The folks working the hostess stand (is there another term for this?) were very welcoming, and one guy ended up being our waiter.  There’s one big main seating area, and there was also another space upstairs that seemed smaller.

Dave wanted some nachos since he was starving, so we went with the Nachos All the Way to start.

Nachos All the Way
Our fresh, homemade tortilla chips topped with award-winning T.MAC chili, black beans, seasoned beef, pickled jalapeños, Cheddar Jack cheese, fresh shredded lettuce, fresh tomatoes and onions. Served with a side of all natural sour cream and our fresh, homemade salsa.

These were pretty good.  I’m not a huge nachos person, but nachos are basically nachos, just with more of less stuff.  The pile, er, mountain, of nachos was generously sized, though some chips were more decked out with toppings than other more naked chips.  I could see noshing on this mountain with some buddies while watching the big game.  As we weren’t able to demolish the Mount Nachmore, the server kindly boxed up the appetizer and even threw in some extra chips.  That was really generous.  I should add that they bring out a small carafe of salsa which I thought was funny but good since it’s nice to have more salsa than you need.

For wings, I selected a single (10 pieces) of signature buffalo wings with lemon pepper rub.  There are eight flavor options, including “Death.”  Taco Mac also has boneless and roasted buffalo wings options.  You can also get extra sauce or even order all drums or all flats, for extra charges, of course.

SIGNATURE Buffalo Wings
Fresh, bone-in wings tossed in your choice of our signature T.MAC wing sauce. Always cooked to order and served with choice of creamy Blue cheese or house ranch dressing and crisp celery or french fries.

Mmm, they were really tasty!  And quite large, I must say.  Strong lemony peppery taste.  Crunch exterior, moist interior.  And hot too.  I got celery as my side; you can either get that rabbit food or French fries.  Wanting to at least pretend to be healthy, I went with the celery.  I slowed down and wasn’t able to finish the whole order of chicken delights, probably since I ate those nachos earlier.  Plus the wings were getting cold, so we just had them boxed up.

I noticed that our server seemed to be hustling with the family of five sitting next to us.  The three kids needed special cups, coloring page and crayons, etc.  Hope they gave him a good tip.  It seems odd to bring children to a sports bar, but I did see a fair amount of offspring.  And there is a kids menu on the menu.

I forgot to take any pictures, maybe I was distracted by all of the televisions blaring various sports events.  But do we need more TVs showing college lacrosse than the Winter Olympics?  C’mon now.  Who the heck wants to watch college lacrosse?

If you’re wondering about parking, you get three hours of parking in the adjacent deck with validation, and they validated our ticket at the hostess stand, before we were seated.

Writing about wings makes me really want some wings!

Leave a comment