Restaurant experiment: Six Feet Under

Six Feet Under

437 Memorial Drive Southeast at Wood Street Southeast

Atlanta, GA 30312

404-523-6664

http://sixfeetunderatlanta.com/locations-hours/grant-park

Six Feet Under is not a themed-restaurant based on the HBO series of the same name.  Too bad since I love that show.  It however does have to do with death, as the restaurant is located right across the street from the Oakland Cemetery.  I suppose some people would be creeped out by this, but I thought it was rather cool.  I haven’t been in Oakland but it’s a historical site and looks very lovely.  I suggested this place for meeting up with Virginia and Nate since it was new to me, had a unique setting, and was suitable for the pescatarian in our group.

Since it was a Saturday evening, Six Feet Under was jam packed with bodies waiting to be led to the tables.  I was trying to be all undertaker there but that didn’t work.  Anyway, the wait was supposedly 40 minutes, but Nate’s phone was texted in about 20, just as we were wetting our whistles at the adjacent Octane.

Our party of four was seated upstairs which was excellent considering the mild clear weather.  On the open-air roof deck, you can take in the Atlanta skyline while chowing down on your delights from the ocean.  I sipped on the cheapest margarita available ($7.50?), which I thought was generously-sized, pretty pleasant, and plenty strong enough for me.  Our server was nice, and she even brought me a plate of lemon wedges for my water.  You can see that in the photo below, along with the margarita and my salad entree.

Six Feet Under 001 resized

  • Cajun Shrimp or Salmon Salad

    Fresh spinach topped with bacon, red pepper, cotija cheese, scallions, avocado & our homemade sweet cajun dressing. Top it off with your choice of grilled cajun shrimp or salmon.

    12.5

I mistook “sweet cajun dressing” to not be that spicy, but I was wrong.  I guess I ordered the wrong thing since I’m not a spicy lover, but I will say that the salad ingredients were fresh, and there was a fair amount of salmon in the salad.  Everyone else seemed pleased with his/her entrees.

I can’t resist dessert, so Dave and I decided to share this:

Six Feet Under 003 resized

  • Mom’s Chocolate Mousse

    Homemade chocolate mousse, whipped cream & oreo crumbles.

    5.95

This wasn’t anything fancy, but boy did it go down easy and fast.  Yum.  It did kind of remind me of the Jell-O chocolate instant pudding mix but I mean that in the best way because I used to love that stuff as a kid.  I’m getting all nostalgic now.

Leave a comment